While You Were Drinking 2014 Game 120 (SD at STL)

Somethings things can get a little fuzzy after a night on the town.  Here’s a friendly reminder of what you may have missed while you were drinking.

If you thought you might be hallucinating during the eighth and ninth innings, sadly, you weren’t. San Diego dropped a tough one to the St Louis Bob Davidson’s 4-3 in front of 45,000+ red, white, and light blue clad fans.  The loss snapped the Padres (57-63) modest 5-game winning streak.  St Louis (64-56) jumped over Pittsburgh and back into second place in the NL Central.

Lost in the end game kerfuffle was another strong outing by Eric Stults.  Eric surrendered a second-inning 2-run HR to Jhonny Peralta but otherwise kept the Cardinals in check.  Stults worked seven allowing just the two runs.  Counterpart John Lackey was tougher early, holding the Padres scoreless through five.  San Diego tied the game in the sixth, however, while only hitting one ball safely out of the infield:  walk, double (there it is!), walk, RBI ground out, infield fly, infield single, fly out.  Not exactly tearing the cover off the ball, that, but hell it got the team even.

The game stayed tied until Bob Davidson took a hand.  The Home Plate umpire appeared to get talked into changing a strike 3 call on Tony Cruz, to a foul ball, by Tony Cruz.  Replays pretty clearly showed Cruz swung over the pitch.  Of course he then immediately singled because, that’s baseball.  The Cardinals loaded the bases with no one out off Alex Torres and then plated two as Jon Jay hit an RBI double/fly ball over a drawn in Will Venable.  St Louis loaded the bases again with one out but Nick Vincent (Ramona) was able to work out of it.

In the ninth, a suddenly mortal Trevor Rosenthal could not find the plate consistently; when he did, the pitch was up and out over the middle of the dish.  San Diego loaded the bases with one out, when pinch hitter Jake Goebbert singled sharply to right, scoring Yasmani GrandalAlexi Amarista eluded catcher AJ Pierzynski’s tag, but Davidson called him out anyway.  Replay was, unbelievably, inconclusive.

How Bud Black didn’t completely lose his mind at that point is beyond me, but he apparently lost it enough to get ejected from the game (although to be fair, arguing a play that has been reviewed is an automatic ejection).  Rosenthal eventually struck out an overmatched Tommy Medica to end it.

Tyson Ross squares off against Lance Lynn tomorrow.

Recaps

Replay review gives Cardinals 4-3 win – Tom Timmermann (STL Post-Dispatch)

Cards get the better of Padres after wild finish – Jenifer Langosch (MLBAM)

Cardinals rally in eighth to beat Padres – Jeff Sanders (SDUT)

Padres begin road trip with streak-ending loss – Alex Halsted (MLBAM)

Quote

“These plays come from New York, so there was no explanation given to me,” Black said. “That’s the way they are. We know the policy, but I will say this: When that play occurred, and you guys all saw it, you saw two major league players react to a play that indicated that a tag was missed. You saw their catcher go back and try to tag our runner because he knew he missed him. You saw our player react knowing that he wasn’t tagged.

“You saw two major league players, two experienced major league players, react to a play that they both knew that there wasn’t a tag. So that’s what’s frustrating to us.” (Sanders, SDUT)

Tweets

Plus a whole shitload of tweets about the blown call at the plate.  Too many to list.

Video

Blown Call #1

Blown Call #2

You are encouraged to comment using an exisitng Twitter, Facebook, or Google account. Upvote comments you find helpful, and only downvote comments that do not belong. The downvote is not a 'disagree' button.

  • ballybunion

    Although Davidson seemed very indecisive, he twice pointed across the third base line toward foul ground. Too bad no explanation is given, because I believe Davidson was ruling that Amarista moved onto the grass to avoid the initial tag and was out for running outside of the base path. If that’s the case, what happened with the second tag didn’t matter. I just wonder if Davidson told Bud that or not. If he didn’t I can see Bud’s beef. If he did and Bud stressed the second tag anyway, he might have been trying to fire up his team. This is the second time Bud has incurred an automatic ejection for arguing after a review. The first time, the Padres won the next three games.

    • I saw that too, and Amarista was certainly way out of the baseline. But now that I know baserunners can ‘establish their own baseline’ I don’t see how anyone can be called out for running outside the chalked baselines, unless they’re outside the 60′ box up the first base line. Even in the latter scenario they don’t get called out more than 50% of the time.
      Davidson could have been pointing at someone’s polish sausage sandwich for all we know.
      I like your thoughts on Black. He and the team were clearly frustrated by the call. Too bad they only got 1 of the next 3 games. They could have easily won all 3.