As Scott accurately summarized, last night the Padres were blown out by Milwaukee 10-1.  The Padres had only one good look at that game, loading the bases in the second inning with two out and the score tied.  Sadly Will Venable reprised his first-half role instead of the Good August Venable, swinging and missing at 3 high fastballs to end the inning.

Two batters earlier, the Padres attempted to score Alexi Amarista from third on a bunt play by Eric Stults.  Amarista was ruled out during the run of play, but how the play unfolded prompted Buddy Black to discuss it with home plate umpire Paul Schrieber.  Schrieber agreed to review it.  The home manager is challenging the tag play at the plate, right?  No; it was announced as a crew chief review of rule 7.13.  I’m not an old man with an onion tied to my belt who frequently opines about how things used to better, but … things used to be better.

Read More…