Once again, it’s time to cast your vote for the 2013 McRib Awards.

So far, you have voted for the best meme of 2013 and your favorite Fox Sports San Diego Girl.

Next up we have the Eckstein-Owens Memorial True Grit Award for the grittiest gritty player who shows gritty grit on the gritty Padres. Named in honor of the two of the grittiest players who ever dirtied up a Padres uniform, David Eckstein and Eric Owens, the True Grit Award is bestowed upon the player who best exemplified gritty play during the season.

What constitutes gritty play? Clutch defensive plays. Take no prisoners baserunning. Outstanding on-field awareness. These are all key. And if a player demonstrates all of these at the same time, that’s a lot of grit.

We used to call these types of players “scrappy.” Not quite sure when it was changed to gritty. Who really cares? It’s basically the same thing.

2013 Eckstein-Owens Memorial
True Grit Award
Presented By 3M*


Everth Cabrera

Andrew Cashner

Chris Denorfia

Jedd Gyorko

Mark Kotsay

Why not Kotsay?

Carlos Quentin

Will Venable

Edinson Volquez

Padres Trail‘s suggestion. Here’s his reasoning:

EVHAU. Gritty is 91 pitches to get 12 outs.

Ok so watching him pitch was more like eating grit, but still.”


[polldaddy poll=7451296]


Dishonorable Mention: Zack Greinke



Next week is the final category and poll. Mostly because I’ve run out of ideas for awards.

In two weeks all of the winners will be announced in the 2013 McRib Awards Presentation Ceremony and Spin-Off Showcase Spectacular here at Padres Public.

*The 3M Company is not associated with this in any way whatsoever. Just in case any of their lawyers happen to read this.

You are encouraged to comment using an exisitng Twitter, Facebook, or Google account. Upvote comments you find helpful, and only downvote comments that do not belong. The downvote is not a 'disagree' button.